Author Topic: I <3 Mustang....  (Read 2294 times)

JCsEVO

I <3 Mustang....
« on: July 02, 2009, 01:54:14 PM »
Ok, So I am new to this wanting a Mustang thing. I grew up a Chevy guy and had been waiting for the new Camaro to come out. Not impressed and for like that last 3 months every time I see a newer (late 90's to now) Mustang sitting on a lot I stop and look at it or browse it on the net..... I think I have a problem!!! But I am ok with that.

So my questions are these...
1)Are they reliable? I have a 2001 Explorer with 110,000 miles going strong and I think that they share similar parts (correct me if i am wrong on that) so i would assume that if you take care of it, it is going to take care of you....

2) Do they hold their value well?

3) are they cheap to mod? Easy to mod?

tell me anything else that might be helpful... I am going to be buying one in about 6 months or so and I want to know it all!

I would be going with a V8. GT Premium on a newer model or a Mach 1, Saleen, Shelby late '90's.... What would be the better here?

I am high on the 2010 but that would probably be a lil outta my range.

Thanks in advance for your input!

Soaring

• Global Moderator
  • 1965 Mustang coupe 289, '03 Mach1, 03 Lariat
  • Mustang: 1965 coupe 289, and 2003 Mach1
  • Daily driver: '03 Ford F-150 Lariat
Re: I <3 Mustang....
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2009, 11:25:15 PM »
Regarding reliability, my 1965 is 44 years old, and the engine has never been rebuilt.  Same transmission and rear end too, and she runs every day like a top.   My 03 Mach1 is 6 years old and runs like a scared rabbit.  You cannot possibly buy a more reliable American built sports car.   Regarding which model should you buy?  That depends on how deep your pockets are.  Of course the Shelby 500 and the Saleens are the creme de la creme, but a nice GT will make you grin as well.  Just stay away from the girl V6 Mustangs. 

Konrad

• Global Moderator
  • Mustang: 2007 GT 5 speed