Forum > Mustang Discussions

66 Coupe 289 Headers?

(1/2) > >>

teven_69_2:
Hello fellow Mustang owners, I have a question. Now, just to let you all know, I'm new at this so please bear with me!

I just bought my 66 about 2 weeks ago, damn near in Mint condition. No Restoration, all Original. She is an absolute Beauty. I like the feel and the rumble of her 289, and I want some more torque, and power directly to the wheels. I was talking to my enthusiast car friend and he was telling me to look into Headers, H-pipe exhaust type system. I'm starting to understand more and more about my car, but still so much to learn. Can ya'll help a fellow owner out? It would be much appreciated!

Steven![attachthumb=1][attachthumb=2][attachthumb=3]

Soaring:
Why would you want to screw up a perfectly good classic Mustang?  These 65-66 model Mustangs were not designed for racing or big power output.  They were designed as a poor man's sports car.  That 289 with the stock manifold has plenty of power to pull that light little car down the road fast enough. 
Now, the problems you will face if you go ahead with trying to change out the manifold with a header, is that the header will hit the starter, will heat up the starter and cause starting problems.  However, putting on a dual exhaust system with either an "X" or "H" pipe will increase your air flow, giving you some gain in HP.  I have a dual exhaust system with an H pipe on my mostly stock setup and really like the sound and the feel.  I would start there, then add the headers later if not satisfied. 

teven_69_2: