Author Topic: Problems with 65 Ford AC Compressor  (Read 4897 times)

ttlunlimited

• Mustang: 1965 Ford Mustang
Problems with 65 Ford AC Compressor
« on: June 20, 2009, 09:32:56 AM »
I'm new to this so hopefully this is the correct forum...

I have a 65 Mustang with the original Ford A/C.  I just got the AC working but the compressor is making a very loud noise when running and looks as if it's going to self-implode.  Needless to say, I quit running it.

Does anyone have an old compressor to sell or recommendations on getting one rebuilt?  We've already checked the bracket, belt, etc. so I know it's none of those parts.

I attached a picture in case that helps.

keiken01

• My 1968 Mustang
  • Mustang: 1968 Coupe
Re: Problems with 65 Ford AC Compressor
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2009, 03:15:10 PM »
I had to replace my 1968 stock compressor last year shortly after getting it running.  Advance Autoparts has a reman. for under $140 and Oreilly $130.  I also changed from the original R-12 to ES-12a Envirosafe refrigerant.  I highly recommend doing a search on Google to consider ES-12a refrigerant over converting to R132.

If your not concerned with the original look then you might consider converting to the newer Sanden compressors.  Again do a search on Google to research.

Soaring

• Global Moderator
  • 1965 Mustang coupe 289, '03 Mach1, 03 Lariat
  • Mustang: 1965 coupe 289, and 2003 Mach1
  • Daily driver: '03 Ford F-150 Lariat
« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2009, 03:40:41 PM »
The same thing happened to my original compressor.  It is  just plain old worn out.  Yes, you can get a replacement compressor for under 150 bux, but the most efficient one is the Sanden as mentioned.  However, they are over 400 bux.  I have the 134A in mine, and she cools just fine.  And, you can get it at Wally World.   ;D

ttlunlimited

• Mustang: 1965 Ford Mustang
« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2009, 04:16:46 PM »