V8 Ford Mustang forums
August 28, 2008, 03:19:47 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Register today to participate in our forum, live chat, arcade games, create a free blog and much more.
 
   Home   Help Calendar Login Register Contact  
31.jpg 75.jpg 21.jpg 356.jpg 355.jpg 77.jpg
Pages: 1
  Print  
Author Topic: HiPo intake manifold???  (Read 2065 times)
Soaring
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 903
Mustang: 1965 coupe, and 2003 Mach1
Daily driver: 1965 Mustang coupe
Location: Wimberley, Texas
Beer?:


View Profile
« on: January 31, 2008, 05:45:05 PM »

There is a 289 intake manifold for sale on Ebay right now, and the seller states it is a HiPo intake.  I didn't know there was such an animal, and I always thought the  A and K code engines had the same 4 barrel intake.  Am I right or wrong? 
Thierry
Thierry
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 1142
Mustang: Had a 69 Mustang coupe
Daily driver: Sunfire
Location: Quispamsis NB Canada
Beer?:



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2008, 06:00:40 PM »

 You are right but he is too  :D. It probably comes from a  HiPo Mustang but it's the same as the ones from regular 4V Mustangs.
Soaring
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 903
Mustang: 1965 coupe, and 2003 Mach1
Daily driver: 1965 Mustang coupe
Location: Wimberley, Texas
Beer?:


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2008, 06:53:35 PM »

Here is the ad Thierry.  The numbers don't add up to High Performance, and  he says it is "maybe" from a hipo engine.  It doesn't matter if it is from the moon, it is still just a 4 barrel intake from a 289.  The mention of Hipo is supppsed to get him a better price, and I wrote to him and explained that.  It really pisses me off to have these guys misrepresent a mustang/Ford  carb on Ebay because I sell my rebuilt carbs on there, and don't want the water muddied by these idiots.  [/rant]  ;D
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ih=016&sspagename=STRK%3AMEBI%3AIT&viewitem=&item=260207073499&rd=1
Thierry
Thierry
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 1142
Mustang: Had a 69 Mustang coupe
Daily driver: Sunfire
Location: Quispamsis NB Canada
Beer?:



View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2008, 07:37:10 PM »

 There is a lot of scams on Ebay like everywhere else but all he says is that it may be a from a HiPo engine. Maybe from a HiPo or maybe from the first Shelby AC Cobra, it still won't give any more value to it. If there is no proof no buyer will pay extra for it. He is probably only trying to get people's attention and not rip them off  :)
Soaring
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 903
Mustang: 1965 coupe, and 2003 Mach1
Daily driver: 1965 Mustang coupe
Location: Wimberley, Texas
Beer?:


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2008, 10:08:55 PM »

What?? He is obviusly ripping off the buyers as a "maybe" Hipo intake.  As you and I know, there is no such animal. 
rmodel65
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 284
Mustang: 65 fastback modded
Daily driver: 1991 gt vert
Location: brunstank ga



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: February 02, 2008, 09:49:31 PM »

the "A" and the "K" use the same manifolds heck even the heads are the same with the exceptions of a few things like screw in studs machined spring seat etc but they flow the same.
Soaring
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 903
Mustang: 1965 coupe, and 2003 Mach1
Daily driver: 1965 Mustang coupe
Location: Wimberley, Texas
Beer?:


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: February 02, 2008, 10:11:10 PM »

the "A" and the "K" use the same manifolds heck even the heads are the same with the exceptions of a few things like screw in studs machined spring seat etc but they flow the same.
Welcome to this site from the other one big boy.Pretty soon we will get this site up and running with knowledgable guys like you. 
rmodel65
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 284
Mustang: 65 fastback modded
Daily driver: 1991 gt vert
Location: brunstank ga



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: February 02, 2008, 10:12:52 PM »

glad to be here glen :) ive got a lot of free time since the wreck you know :P
Soaring
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 903
Mustang: 1965 coupe, and 2003 Mach1
Daily driver: 1965 Mustang coupe
Location: Wimberley, Texas
Beer?:


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: February 02, 2008, 10:17:41 PM »

glad to be here glen :) ive got a lot of free time since the wreck you know :P
Then come on down to Texas and visit me.  I'll even let you drive Ol' Yeller.   ;D
rmodel65
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 284
Mustang: 65 fastback modded
Daily driver: 1991 gt vert
Location: brunstank ga



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: February 02, 2008, 10:29:13 PM »

well if i didnt have physical therapy and occupational therapy three times a week i might oh and the gas money problem :P
Soaring
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 903
Mustang: 1965 coupe, and 2003 Mach1
Daily driver: 1965 Mustang coupe
Location: Wimberley, Texas
Beer?:


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: February 03, 2008, 05:39:08 AM »

the "A" and the "K" use the same manifolds heck even the heads are the same with the exceptions of a few things like screw in studs machined spring seat etc but they flow the same.
Thanks for that clarification Stephen.  Dam rip off artists on Ebay.  ::)
Thierry
Thierry
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 1142
Mustang: Had a 69 Mustang coupe
Daily driver: Sunfire
Location: Quispamsis NB Canada
Beer?:



View Profile WWW
« Reply #11 on: February 03, 2008, 11:09:12 AM »

What?? He is obviusly ripping off the buyers as a "maybe" Hipo intake.  As you and I know, there is no such animal. 

 I know there is no such animal but what I mean is the intake may come from a HiPo Mustang. There is no difference with a regular one and nothing identifying it as a HiPo intake so there is no extra value to it. It's up to the buyer to know what he's dealing with and not bid more than what it's worth.
If someone sells a headlight from a 68 Shelby GT500KR he's allowed to say it and it's up to the buyer to know the headlight would be the same as the one from a 1968 6 cylinder Mustang.
 When you shop from your computer you have to be very careful on what you buy and never trust what you read. Many have been scamed from fake ads displayed here or in other sites and sent money in a different country for something that didn't exist or was in a worse condition than what was explained.
If you can't see the product in person or don't know much about it, don't buy it from photos displayed in a website.
Pages: 1
  Print  
 
 

Other languages
ESPANOL
FRANCAIS
Menu
News blog
Mustang classifieds
Muscle car classifieds
Pictures
Classic Mustang FAQ
Parts
Videos
Ford Mustang videos
Vote 4 us
Mustang links


Auto network
Mustangs for sale
Our ads:

More classic Mustangs for sale

Live from Ebay:

Top users
Top posters
1. Soaring
2. Godfather
3. Russ
4. Racedraper
5. Rmodel65

Used Cars for sale - Bad Credit Auto Loans Washington State's bad credit auto financing leader. - Ford Mustang classifieds
Body Kits - Tail Lights - Headlights
SEO Web Directory